East Pool Mine
The towering beam engines at East Pool Mine are the very centre of the Cornish World Heritage Site – and rightly so.
They were powered by Richard Trevithick’s high-pressure steam boilers, and remind us of the role we played as world leaders in engineering innovation.
East Pool Mine was in action from the early 18th Century right up to 1945, mining first copper, then china clay and tin. The mine sits in the middle of several significant mineral veins and proved so profitable that it generated enough money to build the country house at Tehidy.
Even after the demand for tin declined in the late 19th Century, the mine remained an integral part of our community and employed more than 500 people almost every year between 1884 and 1913.
Today, East Pool is a National Trust site. The pumping engine is one of the largest surviving Cornish Beam Engines in the world and there are daily demonstrations of the restored winding engine thanks to a team of dedicated volunteers.
Pay a visit to the Industrial Discovery Centre and enjoy exhibitions, films, models and chats with local guides to find out more about the history of Cornish mining – for more information, email firstname.lastname@example.org.
“Discover the Extraordinary. Our mining culture shaped your world…”
Cornish Mining World Heritage